Love Into the World

21 Apr

Image

One time, a dear friend of mine went out with a guy who was kind of a jerk. He was having a rough patch, and she was trying to help him through it because she is a sweet person. At the end of what was to be their final date, she told him that she understood what it was like to be frustrated with life – that she was a poet, and it could be very hard to handle working and creating art that you knew might not ever get out into the world (or something along those lines). This rake of a gent replied that yes, poetry was pretty pretentious and useless, wasn’t it? She walked out on him, and bully for her, I say. (I’d like to add to that he is a musician…)

I think about that a lot – the potential uselessness of what I’m doing. I’ve not yet been published, and I don’t know if I ever will. It gets frustrating, particularly when I feel like I have things worth saying. It is also frustrating for me to justify not only to other people but also to myself why I do what I do – that is, spend hours alone indulging in writing that may never see the light and that may actually be pretty stupid, when I could be out doing other things, like I don’t know, working to save humanity (ha) or trying to meet a guy (ha. ha. ha!)

But then in church today, our fantastic preacher found a way to address both the Boston Marathon Bombing and Earth Day. He did this by sharing a few poems that addressed not only the beauty of the world, but the peace that we can find in the beauty of the world. One of them, The Peace of Wild Things by Wendell Berry can be found here, while the other, Wild Geese by Mary Oliver, can be found here.

After I heard those poems, I couldn’t help but think about how poetry – and art, in general – is so much the opposite of pretentious and useless. Rather than be pretentious, if done right, poetry is the most accessible medium, bridging people from different experiences and cultures, uniting them by rhythm and image and language. Rather than being useless, poetry can make sense of the things that are difficult for us to understand. Take this poem about lynching, by my friend Ansel Elkins, who recently won an NEA grant, or the poem “The Starfish” by my friend Stefanie Silva.

Suddenly, it occurred to me that in working on my writing, I’ve lost track of the true, higher purpose of writing (and art), a purpose that was illuminated to me through another peace of art, my favorite childhood book, Harriet the Spy, in which Ole Golly asserts that writing “is to bring love into the world.” 

I think I lost that idea in the competitive pressure cooker that was the MFA program, as well as through the process of living and getting mad at people and really wanting to “get them in memoir” (ok, now that I say that out loud, it sounds like something a crazy person might say). And maybe that works for some people, but so far, it isn’t working for me. Maybe  if I can take any good out of this week, it can be the realization that love, after all, is the highest form of art.  

6 Responses to “Love Into the World”

  1. Matt Hodler April 21, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    Great essay — and strikingly similar to one of my favorite quotes by one of my favorite scholars in my field (Synthia Sydnor): “From the tenets of the humanities, we write and talk with the hope of contributing a small bit of love, peace, justice, beauty and community (whatever these are, and these are the things we debate in the humanities) to the local spaces that we inhabit; we provide research, writing and academic doings that significantly make us messengers of possibilities.”
    Have a good week.
    -matt

    Like

    • apartmentgirl April 21, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      Oh man – that really is a lovely quote. And good to remember in those moments who all that research and typing away seems futile, and the students seem allergic to their syllabi… 🙂 Also: I am a third of the way into Open City, and it is great so far – I need to talk to you about it when I finish it though!

      Like

      • Matt Hodler April 21, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

        Definitely! I haven’t even started yet…it was going to be a summer read. I just read a few of his essays and was looking for a review from you. But, now I’ll get to it so we can talk about it.

        Like

      • apartmentgirl April 22, 2013 at 8:18 am #

        I like it so far – it’s been a pretty quick read. He reminds me a lot of another author I like, Roberto Bolano.

        Like

  2. Beth April 21, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    I enjoyed your post, A. Wendell Berry and Mary Oliver are particular favorites. Also, earlier today I began re-reading Harriet the Spy. For realz!

    Like

    • apartmentgirl April 22, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      Haha I do remember that Harriet was an early inspiration of yours…!

      Like

Leave a comment